I’m leaving

That was the subject to my email that I sent to a handful of patients.

I started adding email addresses to a list, looking at my diary from the last year, hand picking people that deserved to know. But they all deserved to know. Heck! What was I doing, what am I doing? I managed only 35 names and then burst into tears. Felt like I was ending a friendship/relationship with each of those people. Never mind the 150 phone messages I sent the week before(sorry to those who are only finding out now- I’m battling to keep track).

I’m leaving. My job, my comfort zone, my routine, my family(not Cav, he’s joining later- for the curious ones), my friends, my Kingspark family, my home. But I’m not leaving because I’m unhappy. I’m leaving because I’ve finally found the courage to do something that has always scared the living daylights out of me.

So here it goes…  I’m leaving to join the Diversified Integrated Sports Clinic in Dubai as a Chiropractor and my first day of work starts on the 1st of April 2019. I leave on the 26th of March,4 weeks today, there it is. I don’t know how long I’ll be gone for,it may be a year, it may be 10 but I’m leaving. I’m leaving my roots, I’m leaving my 6 year old practice and I’m taking a massive risk. Yes, I know it’s a risk and please don’t remind me! I know I know I know. I know it’s hot, I know it’s sandy, I know it’s different, I know about the tax laws coming in 2020, I know I love the outdoors and will battle being away from nature, I know it will be hard, I know I will probably battle, probably shed a few tears and will pine for my comfort blanket that is home. Please don’t remind me. I need this! I have been offered the most amazing opportunity and I’m not letting it go. An opportunity to learn, grow and become the best Chiropractor and person I can be.

I’m not leaving for any other reason other than to grow (no mid-life crisis here). I don’t need criticism, negativity or any other bad vibes. Just love, support and encouragement. Even some advice! It has been emotional, I know how to put on a very brave face. I now have so much respect for people that move overseas, it ain’t easy. People question you, personal questions, they squeeze whatever juice they can. This lemon has been drained! But I know a lot of it comes from a good place because (certain) people care.

So back to work…

My patients are my people, they are my passion. I live and strive for their well being. The relationship I have developed with some of them has been so special to me. The journey we have traveled, the lessons I have learnt, the stories they have told, the victories and podiums we have celebrated. This job has really humbled and molded me. I have delayed speaking about “leaving” because it has been extremely hard and sad for me but “If it doesn’t scare you, you’re probably not dreaming big enough”- Tory Burch. Right?

On Sunday afternoon Cav and I found ourselves lazing on the couch, watching series, numbing our busy brains. It was the most beautiful day, sun shining brightly, hot as ever. I suggested we go ride. Up the hill we went, all the shades of green, the blues, the fresh air, the sweet smell of freshly cut cane… man, I am going to miss this. As we rode, Cav slightly ahead, I pondered our memories made, our adventures shared and all the exploring we have done over the last few years. Flip it’s been incredible! But time for something new. Here we sit, at the bottom of Africa, so content but I’m not ready to settle for comfort. The world lies ahead. A whole new challenge and an adventure that is now my Everest. Although my butterflies are yet to fly into formation and I’m as scared as I was for my first day of school, I am just so grateful for this opportunity and I hope with my whole heart it will work out.

“I like being tested. I get as scared as anyone. But the feeling of putting yourself on the line, betting on your talent and having it work; that’s the most exhilarating feeling in the world”.- Conan O’Brien

 

IMG-20190204-WA0011

Published by Kirst

I'm a Chiropractor. South African born but now living in Dubai. Love endurance sport and pushing the limits of the human body Obsessed with dogs specifically my Bean Happiest outdoors Coffee drinker and sunrise chaser Kindness always

4 thoughts on “I’m leaving

  1. Dr Kirsten Evans – I salute you.

    Yes you embarking on the adventure of a lifetime. Embrace every moment and every experience. Yes you are going to miss Africa – the sights and the sounds and the nature. But what awaits you is also nature. New sights, new sounds and new roads and paths to cycle and run.

    How about you start a blog for us mere mortals left behind?

    I will be thinking of you at your farewell and of course on the 26th. I will be sending you so much love and strength and light.

    Please remind Cavin that I have a spare room and a plate of food and a beer whenever he wants. Open invitation.

    Lots and lots of love

    Helen Robinson

    Mehr Property Group

    Indusrial Property Brokers.

    Tel : 031-709-6981

    Cell : 082-780-8032

    Email : helen@mehr.co.za

    Like

    1. Thanks Helen, this means so much!! I’m so f*&$ing scared!!! But to read something like this just makes the world of difference 🙏🏽 will try write lots when I’m gone!
      definitely making a plan to see you before I go!! Lots of love xxx

      Like

  2. You my friend, are going to be amazing, Dubai is incredible and what an experience. Warren and I have both said of all the countries to immigrate to, Dubai is definitely on the list for their lifestyle.
    Have the best time and try to travel while there, so much easier from Dubai.
    xxxx

    Like

    1. Thank you Nats 🤗 been so scared and this final countdown has only made it worse. But writing about it and getting support like this from you means the world. So thank you for that!! Foing to miss home but I guess can only learn from this. Will keep in touch 😉 hope you guys are well xxx

      Like

Leave a comment