The grass IS brown on the other side

Sorry, I just had to do it.

The amount of times I have heard that over used phrase, “The grass is not greener”, well in my case, NO, it’s most definitely not.

 

 

So 1 week down in Dubai. It has gone so fast.

 

20190401_094641I’ve had a very warm welcome, see what I did there 🙂 The team at Diversified Integrated Sports Clinic (DISC) are incredible. They have made me feel right at home. The mix of international practitioners really makes for an awesome learning environment. And that’s what I’m here for! My colleagues are so open and willing to share their advice and knowledge between seeing their patients. Whilst writing this, I had a Canadian Kinesiologist who came in to have a brief 5 minute chat about the concept of pain and an Osteopath who came in and chatted about our studying and our common interest in biomechanics and movement, proceeded by me treating him. Teaching, learning, practicing. 

 

20190401_093702The staff at DISC take such good care of you. They help take notes whilst you treat, they clean and prepare your rooms for appointments and they do my admin(something I have always done). As for the clinic, BEAUTIFUL! The attention to detail here is on another level. So yes, work is just peachy! 20190328_164357

Although I’m not as busy as I was back at home(learning to start from the bottom again), I keep reminding myself  WHY I’m here and WHY I took this risk. Patience will pay off.

So during my free time(what even was that at home?), I read and watch technique videos. I sat in with another Chiropractor 2 days ago, she just willingly invited me into her room to observe. I last did that as a student. It was awesome. As a medical professional we should be doing this often…reading, learning, observing. Soaking up all the information, staying up to date. I now have time for this and it feels so good! Did I mention I only work 4 days a week?

 

20190403_135441I’ve also had to get use to sharing my work on social media, hence my new Instagram account @chirokirst. Something that wasn’t really allowed back at home. The rules here are SO different. So no judging down there in S.A! People like to see how you work and your general “style” of treatment, it’s the way they communicate with patients. It’s the way they educate. It’s going to get some getting use to but I’ll adapt.

In terms of my living environment, I have taken over an apartment from a trail runner, with the help of a friend (thank you), I love it! The area where I live is so pretty, there are trees and water fountains and chirping birds. Great for your sanity here in the desert!I have already found a local coffee shop(400m away), which makes GREAT coffee, lucky me. I found a reasonably priced grocery store(and recently found out about online grocery shopping), a Nandos and some future running routes. The fruit and vegetables here are delicious although you have to be quite careful just throwing them into your basket as certain imported stuff are super expensive.

I take the train and bus to work, again so different and have to rely on lifts to outlying places. I’ve lost a bit of my independence but learning so much about myself and the people around me. I’m walking a lot, it’s amazing how it can relax you, I feel generally more mobile.

 

I did my first track session this week with a colleague of mine(actually my lady boss), trying to find a group so that I can get back into my triathlon training. The session made me smile the entire day. Exercise is a huge part of my life, I felt so at home and more me. Health and fitness here are taken very seriously. The gyms are big, bold and flashy. Again using social media to drive people in. I love how health conscious people are and I love the diversity of training and focus on “movement” as a whole.IMG-20190402-WA0017

So although my grass is brown, I am still loving the experience of this new growth and change. I do miss my grass back at home. The sugarcane and the waves of the sea. I’ve had a few moments of second guessing but then pull myself back together when I think WHY.

Will this be easy, no. But it will be absolutely worth it!

“If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got”.

 

DCIM118GOPROG6813456.JPG
DCIM118GOPROG6813456.JPG

Published by Kirst

I'm a Chiropractor. South African born but now living in Dubai. Love endurance sport and pushing the limits of the human body Obsessed with dogs specifically my Bean Happiest outdoors Coffee drinker and sunrise chaser Kindness always

10 thoughts on “The grass IS brown on the other side

  1. Amazing – Embrace it !!
    You only live once my Kirst
    The world………..she is your Oyster

    Sending you tons of love from back home
    xxxx

    Like

  2. Kirst you are inspirational with your positivity!!! It is so different over there but a very good different. And it looks like you have some amazing people around you. Love and miss you. Big hug. X

    Like

  3. Such an amazing adventure my cuz! So exciting, I am so happy for you, you are going to crush it! Always know that we love you very much xxx

    Like

Leave a comment