Pre-race Comradions

It’s been a while since I have worked with Comrades runners.

For those of you who have known me for a while, I have been treating Comrades runners since I started my first day of work in Durban, South Africa. To a point that eventually about 50% of my practice were just these okes. From top 20 finishers to 11:59 scramblers. It brought all types of emotions, for me and the runners. I pushed my professional boundaries and they pushed their bodily boundaries. Some experiences etched into my brain, this bunch are, well, interesting.

I have also supported Comrades since I was weeeee years old. It was a family tradition. We would set up on the side of the road, in the dark, my Dad making bacon and egg rolls and my brothers and I drawing on the road in chalk, whilst we waited for the first runners. It was an event of the year that we just couldn’t miss.

Fast forward…I am now in Dubai, 3 and a bit years later. By some universal magnetic force, I have landed up treating a group of them. All South African I may add. I secretly do love it, they add a certain spice to my day that leaves me feeling energized.

Together with my recent experience of training and competing in a full Ironman and a hilarious discussion with a patient (Comrades runner), I have been inspired to write yet another pre-race post, specifically for Comrades. Athletes fascinate me, from wanting to live a healthy, active lifestyle, to risking every physiological fibre to reach a start line.

With the race on the horizon and lots of nerves, jitters and banter going about, I thought it would be time to introduce to you my pre-race favourites.

So, let’s begin with talk-a-lot Tom. This one does not know how to hou bek (shut up). Has to have a say in every conversation even though 99% of the time he’s contradicting himself and not making any real sense. He always chips into conversation and keeps everyone amused. He definitely makes the training sessions more bearable.

Doubting Debra. Man oh man, if only this lady knew the talent she has. She puts in the hard work, she sticks to the plan but that mind of hers plays in a circus before race day. Debra is strong in every training session, she is a wonderful person to train with. She just needs to learn to control those reins before her mind gallops away. Debra IT WILL ALL BE FINE! You’ve got this.

Deviating Dave loves to prove the coach wrong. Never sticking to his pace or race plan and always thinking he has more in the bag and a lot to prove. “Run 60 minutes” = Dave’s run 90 minutes. “5:30 pace” = Dave’s sub 5 min pace. “But I just felt so good”. He’s a coach’s nightmare and a physical therapists dream. You will learn Dave, we all do.

Talented Themba. That annoying one who skips a session here and there, leads a relatively balanced life, sometimes pitches up to sessions with 3 hours sleep and a few pints down his gullet. But yet just smashes those races every time. It’s just.not.fair!!! When he puts in the work and puts down those drinks, he is just unstoppable. PB’s fly. Themba, his name meaning trust/hope/faith and should also mean BLESSED.

I know everything Karel a.k.a Karen. IYKYK. I’m actually a tad afraid to say anything a as I might get shut down VERY quickly. Karel knows a race back to front, inside out. Beginners love him, his fellow running friends actively engage with him in fear. He knows what nutrition is best and at what exact split second you should be taking it. Don’t ever challenge him. I beg you. His coach has won 10 diamond medals in that race before, he has taught Karel very well. “He is the best in the business, trust no one else”. Don’t run in those shoes, the cushioning is terrible. Your training should include more hills. Where’s your protein shake, you should be doing a warm down. I could go on for days.

Silent Sam. Although she may be quiet, this one has the ability to become a weapon of mass destruction. She doesn’t like getting involved in all the hype, but secretly deep down she is fierce and has everything planned down to a T. She means business. Sam is the epitome of float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. She is competitive but mostly with herself. She doesn’t like to commit to racing with anyone because if the race plan fails, hell may break loose. We see you Sam.

Nervous Nigel. Eeeek, the one I don’t really like to be around. This guy releases this jittery energy that spreads like caffeine through your blood after that first coffee of the day. Nigel’s mind is easily manipulated, the Karel’s love him. Changing his mind a million times before the race. This nutrition one day, these shoes another. Hells bells Nigel, just stick to your own plan. And please don’t try anything new on race day, AGAIN.

Together Toby. The HIGHLY organized one. Would wear ear plugs if he could, just to dim out all the nonsense. He stays away from the Nigel’s and Karen’s and focuses on THE race. He has kept to his training plan, has nailed his nutrition in training and is now fully ready to execute his A game. This guy does not partake in pre-race banter, only post-race beers. Instead, he sticks to reading the race information booklet for the 35th time, examining every meter of elevation that lies ahead. He arrives at the race line, FOCUSSED, sometimes even seen with permanent marker pacing drawn onto his wrist. He is next level.

Introducing my favourite, the lady of the moment. Data Dianne. I love to bait these ones. Hook line and sinker, she always takes it. Data is life. I mean is a run really a run without hitting a cadence of an elite nature, 180 or nothing. Arrives at one of her training sessions without a watch, gets back into her car and drives home…(crickets). Somehow not too concerned with heart rate, even though this is the biggest predictor of fitness or failure. Doesn’t like to calibrate treadmill and watch pace, the watch is always right. Takes that P.B. even though the buildings are known to cause a disruption in GPS frequencies. Technology over biology.

Coach Brian. God’s gift to running. “Those coaches don’t know what they’re doing”. Loves to bad mouth. My way or the highway. Some people love it, I run 100 miles away from it. The Brian’s are quite old school, quite tunnel visioned. Even though research may prove otherwise, according to Brain, his way is best. He has all the experience. This type of coach is quite a pain to deal with, their athletes are militant trained. I don’t dabble with Brian, I may get a grenade thrown my way.

Remember training and racing is not life. It’s part of life, it can make life wonderful and hard at the same time. It’s a journey. It’s what makes us better people. Enjoy it! Stay light in your heart, mind and feet. Good luck Comrades runners!!!

Published by Kirst

I'm a Chiropractor. South African born but now living in Dubai. Love endurance sport and pushing the limits of the human body Obsessed with dogs specifically my Bean Happiest outdoors Coffee drinker and sunrise chaser Kindness always

Leave a comment