10 years

Let’s get one thing straight. I’m not here for Kona, podium or any records. The Europeans can take that cake. I’ve had my ass handed to me at a world champs before. It ain’t pretty. I would like to get as close to a certain time as I can but shit can happen and we never know how our bodies are going to react on the day. And it’s a long day. We must remain flexible, calm and level headed. We must be prepared for anything. And of course remember the most important thing, we do this for fun! Don’t take yourself too seriously.

I’m also not just here for race day, I’ve been here for the journey. And it’s been a 10 year journey for me to get to this point. And I plan to keep going, although I don’t know about this long Ironman nonsense I’ve just put myself through ha ha! This is the 3rd time I’ve trained for one, lucky number 3 get me to that finish line!!!🤞🏻

I did my first 70.3 in South Africa in 2012 and was set on doing a full IM after this. Luckily my coach at the time(shout out to Justin Hand), was wise enough to hold me back as I was only 24(oh dear now you know my age), with very little experience, endurance and mental capacity for this stuff. I will be eternally grateful for this. Its given me longevity in the sport. I’ve never lost the passion for endurance.

Ķ

After numerous sprint, olympic and 70.3 distance races, an ITU World Champs, 2 marathons, the Two Oceans 56km and a multi stage canoe race with my Dad, I set my sights on 2016 in Port Elizabeth. Which didn’t happen as I contracted the coxsackie virus and a whole host of subsequent health issues. Disappointed was an understatement and depression followed. A long 8 months of absolutely no exercise, can you imagine? I questioned my WHY big time. But also learnt a lot about myself, my belief and support systems.

I finally came right and set my sights on Comrades 2018. Only to be knocked down again(literally) due to being in a motor bike accident in India, which almost cost me my left foot. Road running and triathlon then got the boot, I was over it.  Enter mountain biking and trail running. This taught me real endurance, grit and toughness. Those mountain bike races were the hardest races I’ve ever done.

In 2019, I made the big move to Dubai, triathlon and road biking all up in my face ha ha ha!Then I almost lost my left thumb in the first 5 months, from a cooking accident. I managed to get two 70.3’s done and then started training for Ironman Philippines in 2021, only for it to be cancelled.

I’m spiritual(in a hippy sort of way), I believe the universe sets us on all these paths for a reason. What will be, will be. Life is about living, learning and moving on. I don’t do grudges. As much as I have faced disappointments, I have come back each and every time with a different and better attitude. You have to take responsibility for your own life. You can’t keep blaming the world for every outcome. Moping around helps no one. Get a move on.

Honestly, training for an Ironman is shit. Especially if you have a full time job(nevermind kids). Personally, I don’t think the training is sustainable and healthy(body and mind) if done year after year-the health professional side of me talking. You are always tired, depleted, hungry and grumpy ha ha! And you are lucky if you have friends after it! Hats off to the people that manage to do this but it ain’t for me.

However, it is one heck of a challenge. You learn to push yourself to all types of different limits, emotional, physical, mental and this definitely helps you to face challenges in the big world. It requires consistency. The discipline required is huge. You learn to embrace obstacles and climb mountains. You cry, laugh, scream, swear and grit your teeth through the training sessions. Damn it’s a rollercoaster.

My build up to this race has been in typical Kirsten fashion. Typically the universe wants me to arrive VERY head strong. Plantar fasciitis, allergic bronchiitis, covid, a stomach bug, a groin cyst and a bruised right big toe. It’s been a real fight and I feel like a well seasoned soldier prepared for this Ironman war ha ha ha! 

This race means a whole lot to me, a whole 10 years. What a journey it’s been. Sport has opened up some incredible opportunities for me and I’ve met the best of best people.

I will probably be crying on the start line and all the way on the red carpet(🤞🏻), tears of relief that I’m finally here. It’s really surreal. All this time. All the years of start and finish lines have amounted to this, the one I’ve always secretly wanted.

Thanks Luke for pushing me to enter this when I came over for tea last year, everyone needs a friend like you.

Thanks Dad for being my motivation in life. I only wish to be like you in my 60’s.

Thanks Cav for being my coach and biggest support. For being so understanding and for putting up with my mood swings and grumpy days. For pushing me through my grey areas and over walls. For all the advice and pep talks. It’s been great to share this experience with you. I promise not to bike too hard ha ha!

As my very first triathlon coach Justin Hand said, the training is the hard work and the race is the fun part. Now time to have some fun 🙂

Published by Kirst

I'm a Chiropractor. South African born but now living in Dubai. Love endurance sport and pushing the limits of the human body Obsessed with dogs specifically my Bean Happiest outdoors Coffee drinker and sunrise chaser Kindness always

3 thoughts on “10 years

  1. Excellent article Kirst! You’re a beacon of light – well done on your Austria Iron Man whoop whoop. Keep on shining 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment